What is I Ching?

I Ching or the Book of Changes is one of the oldest books of the ancient Chinese canon. It consists in 64 short essays on the lineal figures named hexagrams.
Each hexagram is made of six yin or yang lines as shown below:

__  __
__  __
_____  Hexagram 54 - Kuei Mei / The Marrying Maiden
__  __

The yin is represented by a broken  line__  __ and the yang as a continuous _____ one.
A hexagram is a combination of yin and yang lines bearing a name. Each name points to a specific life situation, human attitude or object.
Each hexagram is assigned a so-called Judgment in the form of a short statement followed by an omen or advice in order to know what is the better way to escape a danger or succeed in something.

One may consult the I Ching through casting coins or yarrows or even online through this device (see the instruction on the left).

Online Resources:
- James Legge version - http://baharna.com/iching/legge/
- Richard Wilhelm version - http://www2.unipr.it/~deyoung/I_Ching_Wilhelm_Translation.html
- Carl Jung's introduction to the Wilhelm/Baynes version - http://www.iging.com/intro/foreword.htm
Explains the content and the consultation methods, and gave an example of interpretation of the answers.

Special thanks to Dan Enright for this great script!